Today I am pleased to feature Anastasia of Chant.  She makes unique soaps, body butters, perfumed potions, and skin care.  Thank you for sharing your story with us!

 

 

Neroli Pink Grapefruit Body Butter

 

1)      Please describe your background. How did you come to make organic soaps, body butters, perfumed potions, and facial care? What do you do when you are not creating these lovely products?

I was born in Proti, Florina, Greece in 1958. My family immigrated to the Detroit area in 1968 and I have been in the US ever since. I have studied massage therapy and while I no longer do massage for a living, I have in my years been blessed with information.  Whether it involves food, supplements or essential oils. I would say that I focus most on the value of a product and how it can serve me. Like I would use jasmine not just for the smell but for its toning on the female centers, including emotion, accepting love, or “knowing” with deep down intuition.

I love essential oils most. I can’t get them out of my head. I get excited when I do a blend and it corresponds with the moon or the season. It is where I shine in my life. I have no fear when I make soap. It is a beautiful thing.

2) What is your favorite soaping ingredient and why?

How can you ask me that question? I am a Libra for gosh sakes!
I love all the oils. I am particularly interested in some of the new carriers from Africa, like Argan oil, and I love Marula oil. What about Magnolia oil? I hear that is so nice and I haven’t tried it yet.

To me these types of carrier oils work well on their own without wax emulsifiers and are very healing depending on their fatty acid composition. For example, argan is noted for its high squalane content.

3) Describe your creative process. How do you usually get ideas for a new product, and what is your process for creating and testing that product?

I started making soap for real in 1993. I have put at least 10 thousand hours in it so I feel it is as easy as making an omelet. The ideas come all day. When I make soap, I am super ready. It will have been days of intending it before I actually make it. The blends are what they are. I honestly do not think it is me. It just all comes together for a few special people to share in it.
I test all of the products on myself and my family. We will go through a bar of soap in 2 days. When I make a new scrub, I make it because I really want those ingredients and since I am fickle, nothing stays the same. Life is like that. From the cellular level to the everyday little adjustments we continually move away from the last thing. It is big to even think about it.

Soaps and skin cleanser

4) Your soaps are not only organic and skin nourishing, but they feature essential oil blends that are unique and decadent. When visiting your shop, I can regularly find soaps made with neroli, frankincense, myrrh, and other pricey oils. How do you decide which soaps to offer at different times in your shop, and how much of them to make?

Thank you. I love those oils. Classics they are!

I make about 10 bars of each blend. It is pricey, but my clients know that when they pay $9.00 for a bar of soap with rose, there will be rose. It is worth every penny too because it is like medicine. Rose oil heals all tender areas and opens the heart. What could be better?

5) What would you consider to be your signature product or scent and why?


Good question. I am a fan of the Himalayan Pink Salt Soap, I seem to make that every month. It reminds people of the spa. I love anything with neroli in it so I am right now using a neroli pink grapefruit soap. I am looking forward to using the solar flare soap; it is lovely to look at anyhow. I hope it is good.

6) Can you describe the best feedback you’ve ever received, or describe an interaction that you had that made you feel good about your creations?

Mystic Medusa said that my products rock and she wrote a little blog about me. It was nice. I want all my soap people to love it.  To be happy and smell very good and tell me the next day. Yes, I want to hear it all day! It is true.
I recently had one of the moms from my kid’s school knock on my door and ask how come my boy smells so good and where she can get that smell. That was cute. She has been buying from me since.

7) What plans do you have for your shop in 2011? What should we be looking out for?

Something good I hope. I am working on “a label” for the soap and the jars. Let’s see if I can stay with it.

8. Do you have any favorite crafters or artisans that you would like to share with us?

Kyphi Incense

I love Justine Crane, Dabney Rose, Evan Healy, Linden Glitter and so many more. I love Sunrose Aromatics, Ananda Apothecary, White Lotus, Shiva.

9) What advice would you give to budding soapers or artisans who are looking to present their wares to the public?
Get a scale, stainless steel bowls and make something. Use only real essential oils and good fats. Thank you.

10) Is there anything else that you would like to share?

Thank you, for trying my stuff and being glad,
Madam Soapmaker
I mean,
Anastasia

