Happy Autumn!  I hope that you’re enjoying this season, which is my favorite.  Che asked if I would share my current skincare routine.  For many of us, our skincare routines shift or change entirely as climate changes require.  As of today, here’s what I’ve been doing this fall to care for my normal/combination skin.

Morning:

Cleanse In the morning, I do not cleanse my face since there is not much to cleanse just from sleeping (Note: I never use soap on my face anyway).  I simply use a cotton pad with a witch hazel-based toner/cleanser that I make with hydrosols, witch hazel, and a touch of oil.  Sometimes I mix smaller sized toners together to make a blend; it’s always changing depending on what I have on hand and how I feel.  Right now I am storing this blend in a lovely, reused glass body oil bottle with a convenient pump.  Holding four ounces, my cleanser/toner will last me about 4 weeks used twice daily.  I don’t use essential oils in this blend as I feel it is unnecessary right now, though if I did I would probably incorporate rose, rose geranium, lavender, and/or frankincense.

Tone I follow my “cleanse” with a toner.  Right now I am using Sanre Organics’ Rosy Fresh Toner.  I was in Whole Foods in Miami this summer after returning from an anniversary cruise with my husband.  I browsed the skincare aisle as usual.  I sprayed the tester of this toner and fell in love – it smells and feels divine.  I had to have it so I bought it on the spot.  It lasts a long time and really healing and moisturizing.  I love this company’s philosophy and have since bought a few more of their products – all outstanding.

Moisturize I then moisturize with a bit of Grateful Body’s Organic Sun Sense Booster with their Sea Cell Serum.  It’s a divine, moisturizing mix that provides natural sun protection.  I used this blend in Brazil in the hot months of June and July and never got sunburned.

Evening:

Cleanse At night I will either use my homemade cleansing grains or Grateful Body’s Enzyme Cleanser.  If I wore a bit of makeup, I will use Aster & Bay’s Cleansing Oil instead.

Tone I follow that with a pre-tone with a cotton pad and the mix I use for morning “cleansing.”  Then I will tone with Sanre Organics’ Rosy Fresh as I do in the morning.

Moisturize I replenish with a blend of Grateful Body’s Sea Cell Serum or their Supernatural Antioxidant, mixed with a few drops ofShea Terra’s Argan and Berbere Fig Hydra-Toning Face & Decollete Serum.   I really love this oil by Shea Terra.  It’s unscented and packs a punch with argan, berbere fig (also know as prickly pear or barbary fig), and pomegranate oils.  It’s so versatile and comes in a 2-ounce amber glass pump bottle.  I have been using this oil daily since late-April and I still have about 3/4 of an ounce left.  It works so well and Shea Terra has 30% off sales for each month, so it makes their line more affordable.

Weekly:

About twice a week, I will mix up a masque with clays, herbs, flowers, hydrosols, and honey, or I’ll use a pre-mixed dry masque like the Antolina Rose Clay Masque by Amrita Apothecary and add whatever I’m feeling like frankincense CO2, aloe, honey and/or tinctures.

Mixing It Up:

Sometimes, I will use other products if I am feeling in the mood for something different.  Some examples include Rosemary Hydrosol by The Scented Djinn, Hydrate Serum and Cleansing Oil by Aster and Bay, Dawn Delight Cream by Sanre Organics, and Acure Organics‘ Brightening Facial Scrub.

With this routine, I experience very minimal breakouts, and when I do have the occasional pimple, I use Burt’s Bees’ Herbal Blemish Stick.  It works well to shrink pimples without leaving marks behind.

Stay tuned for my shower and bath routines! How have you been caring for your skin?

