It’s been almost a week since my last post and I cannot believe it.  In midst of getting things organized and doing some marketing and publicity for the book (as well as my graduate work) I’ve managed to work on the facial scrub that I will release this weekend.

Sneak preview of ingredients:

Pulverized Organic Forbidden Rice (also known as China Black Rice):  This rice is high in nutritional value, rich in iron and fiber.  When cooked, the color changes from black to a deep purple and it has a nutty taste.  For the mask I am using raw, uncooked forbidden rice that I pulverize myself with my mortar and pestle (talk about an arm workout!).  It has a wonderful, rich scent and is one of the reasons why I’ve chosen not to add essential oils to this blend.

Freshly-Ground Lavender Flowers: Lavender is wonderfully aromatherapeutic and is great for all skin types.  Ground lavender buds provide gentle exfoliation in this mask, as well as a glorious scent that is unmatched.

Demerara Sugar is a raw, unrefined sugar that contains glycolic acid, helping the skin shed its former self.  Unlike refined white sugar, demerara contains calcium, phosphorus, iron and potassium.  I use raw, unrefined demerara sugar rather than salts in this blend to provide a gentler mask and to decrease the risk of burning or irritating the delicate facial skin (for acneic and sensitive skin types).

There are other luxurious ingredients included, and you will have to see them for yourself on Saturday when the product is released!  I’m sure that you’ll enjoy the scrub as much as I do. 🙂

