Hi everyone!

I had a great post prepared for you on the importance of oils in skin care, but WordPress was acting up when I tried to publish it and alas…it is lost, never to be retrieved.  When I have time to write it over, I will.

Right now, though, I’m in the fascinating city of New Orleans, Nawlins, or NOLA, however you like it!  I am here for a conference (giving a presentation and leading a workshop tomorrow), but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the scenery and culture while I’m here.

There are a lot of shops around with colorful archictecture that really catches the eye.  What really caught my eye, though, was when I walked into a convenience store and saw various pastries for sale that were preserved with *triple gasp* PARABENS!  I coudn’t believe it.  I was at the counter ready to pay when I saw these little innocent-looking treats with parabens (methyl- and propyl-) listed on their labels.  My jaw literally dropped, and I’msure that the storekeepers were wondering what I was thinking.

I couldn’t bring myself to make a comment, especially since the cashier seemed particularly annoyed.  So I want to ask you, dear readers, if you’ve heard of foods being preserved with parabens?  I do not use products with parabens at all, let along EAT them!

I’m appalled, floored.  Still, I enjoy NOLA!

