Good morning, Lovelies!

Today I cannot resist sharing with you a recipe that I came up with that is great for natural, kinky, coily dry hair.   It is not a product, but rather a recipe that I created several years ago when I was living in very cold Michigan during biting winters that really dried out my hair.  When I was using this conditioner regularly, I used it 1-2 times a month as a deep conditioner and it kept my hair soft, manageable and prevented damage from the cold winds and below zero temps.  Enjoy.

Ingredients

2 Tablespoons Rhassoul Clay

1 Teaspoon Honey (raw, unrefined, organic if possible; Agave Nectar can be used fora vegan alternative)

1/2 Teaspoon Lemon Juice

1/2 Teaspoon Virgin Coconut Oil

1/2 Teasp0on Castor Oil

2 – 3 Tablespoons canned Coconut Milk (gently warmed)

All of these ingredients are excellent for the hair.  Rhassoul Clay is used in spas across the world and is the most versatile and one of the best clays out there.  It absorbs impurities and is high in silica, perfect for your hair.  Honey in its raw, unrefined form is amazingly antibacterial, moisture-drawing, and protecting. Lemon Juice is astringent and good for balancing hair, while Coconut and Castor Oils are some of the best oils for hair, period.  Coconut Milk smells divine and deeply penetrates the hair shaft (like its Oil counterpart) to nourish every strand.

Directions: Mix all ingredients together except the coconut milk.  Add the milk last.  Apply mixture to freshly washed hair and leave in for 20-30 minutes.  Rinse well and enjoy your soft, smooth hair!  This can also be used as a pre-poo treatment, but I find I like it best as a deep conditioner.  Double or triple the recipe to make sure you have enough for your hair.  Add more liquid (milk) as necessary, and also essential oils such as Lavender, Rosemary, Cedarwood, Lemongrass and Ylang Ylang as you’d like and in moderation.  Enjoy!  If you try this let me know how you like it.

 

