I hope that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.   My husband and I are both vegetarians, so for the first time in both of our lives we had an all-vegetarian Thanksgiving. Usually there is some meat for some kind on either of our families, so to have a truly meat-free Thanksgiving was heartening in a very different way.  He was raised vegetarian and I have been veggie for a few years now.  I was already moving in that direction before we met and started dating.  I never liked pork or beef, so once I got to college I gave that up.  In college I started cooking more vegetarian, chicken and seafood dishes.  So the transition to vegetarian was almost natural to me.  We are truly a match made in heaven, in more than one way. 🙂

I got up at 3:45 a.m. Thanksgiving morning to make several dishes, which included:

Fried Chicken Seitan

Candied Yams with Cinnamon & Ginger

Red Beans with Onions and Red Bell Pepper

Dressing made from Buttermilk Cornbread and various veggies

Cabbage with Smoked Sea Salt, Onion, and Green Bell Peppers

Potato Salad with various veggies

Cranberry Sauce

Autumn Pear Cake

Gingerbread Cake

… and Sparkling Apple Cider from Trader Joe’s

It was quite a treat.  Everything was done by 12:30 – just in time for Thanksgiving lunch.  But after I was done you should’ve seen the kitchen!  Thankfully hubby helped me clean so it was taken care of really fast.

I hope you all enjoyed the holiday with your loved ones.  I am thankful for so much this year.  It has truly been a blessing to blog and to create a community this way as well.  Have a wonderful weekend.

