January 1st – Celebrated the start of a new year and a new decade.
January 2nd – Celebrated my birthday.
January 3rd – Turned in my dissertation.
January 4th –  Got off to a great start at work.

I must say that this year has started off tremendously.  I feel inspired, empowered, and ready for a new year.  As I evaluate my work and the personal goals I have for myself, one thing that I continue to ask myself is, what am I willing to sacrifice?  Not what do I need to do, but, what sacrifices need to be made in order to accomplish what needs to get done?  True growth and advancement comes from sacrifice, and not necessarily only from hard work.  Working smart, sacrificing what’s necessary, and being open to change are, to me, a few ingredients key to a life of success.  This is the message, my mantra if you will, that I am taking into this decade.  I’m learning and realizing that what I am most proud about and satisfied with in my life are those areas in which I have sacrificed tremendously.  It doesn’t always feel great in the moment, and in fact, it can hurt and it can feel heavy, heavy, heavy.  But when we decide that our goal means much more than the sacrifice itself, then we reach a new resolve.  We put feelings aside, swallow our pride, and remember why we are doing what we do.  And when it’s all over, we reflect, take note, and move on up just a little bit higher.

Wishing all of you the best year imaginable in 2010.

