Hi  Everyone,

As I write this post my heart still goes out to Haiti.  I donated twice already but want to do more.  I am still doing all that I can to support from across the water and land…

Today I want to talk about infused oils for skin care.  I recently bought an infused oil that has been working wonders for my skin.  I used to make my own, but lately I have forgotten about this.  I had breakouts that have cleared up, spots that have faded, and overall my skin is so much better since I’ve been using herb-infused oils daily.

What are the best oils for infused oils?

It depends on your skin type.  Grapeseed, Jojoba, Hazelnut, Meadowfoam Seed and Safflower Oils are lighter oils and great for oilier skins, while Olive, Coconut, Cherry Kernel, Apricot Kernel and Sweet Almond work wonders on drier skins.  If you have combination skin, start with the lighter oils and gradually use a bit of the heavier oils.  Mix and match oils and experiment until you find what is best for your skin.

What are the best herbs for infused oils for skin care?

Some of the common herbs used are chamomile, calendula, lavender and rose.  Plantain is also great, as well as alfalfa, chickweed, plantain, marshmallow root, and a plethora of others.  Visit Mountain Rose Herbs to learn more about herbs and oils that would be great for skin care.

Process

Once you’ve chosen your oils and herbs, you have to decide how to infuse them.  One method is to use low heat to warm the oils and herbs for an hour or two.  A better method, which preserves all of the herbs’ properties, is sun infusion.  The herbs ‘ properties will not be destroyed by heat this way.  Place your herbs and oils in a clear glass jar and then set your jar by a window so that the sun can work its magic in infusing the herbs’ properties in the oil.  If you use the stove top method, you can use your oil right away, whereas if you use the latter method, you can use your oil in 3-4 weeks.  If sun infusing your oil, make sure to shake your jar every day to mix the herbs.  I think the 3-4-week wait is well worth it!

If you use infused oils or make your own infused oil, please share how you do it!  I would like to learn more about this topic.

