In early-March my husband and I took a 4-day trip to NYC.  The last time I had been was as an undergraduate, doing research at the Schomburg Library in Harlem, interviewing a famous writer, running away from an Italian man who wanted to take me to Paris that night (long story), getting into the American Museum of Natural History for free (another long story), taking the train to Yale University and back to do some archival research, and meeting up with a friend who was teaching in the area.  That was an exciting and scary time, filled with firsts.  This trip with my husband had a different flavor.  We mostly met up with friends who are engaged, in committed relationships and/or who have children.  We cooked a lot inside the apt. we stayed in, although during the last couple of days we ate out, a lot.

One of the places that we ate at with a couple of friends was The Chocolate Restaurant by Max Brenner. We didn’t have to wait that long to sit down (maybe 20 mins.) despite the busyness and popularity of this restaurant.  Believe me when I tell you that being here was like being in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory!  There were pipes running throughout the building carrying liquid chocolate.  There were huge vats of milk chocolate and white chocolate churning  near the attached store, which sold chocolate goodies, from chocolate-filled syringes (to get your choco-medicine fix), to lovely gift boxes, to chocolate body butters, lotions and perfumes.  Mmmmm.

If you order a sandwich or a burger, it comes with waffle fries sprinkled in chili powder and cocoa powder (very lightly, so it only enhances the flavor).  My husband got the margherita pizza, I got the veggie burger with avocado.  Our desserts were spectacular, and once we were in there for a while I started losing my perspective.  Later, I came to, and was amazed at how much chocolate we both ate.  It was quite an experience.  It wasn’t overdone or too imaginative, but a treat for adults with discriminating tastes, and not too expensive, either.

I doubt that we’ll ever go back, but it was a great experience and I enjoyed every moment of it.

