My husband and I are in the middle of packing for our move.  Unlike last summer, this time things are going much easier.  We don’t have to worry about selling, or putting a house on the market, and we got rid of lots of stuff before we moved last time.  Still, we are getting rid of more stuff here, and one thing that was hard for me to part with was…you guessed it…soaps.

It’s no secret that I’m a soap fanatic if not a soap addict.  When I discovered all-natural soaps over three years ago, I was like a kid in a candy store, or, more accurately, like Augustus Gloop in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory.

Like Augustus Gloop’s obsession with sweets to the point of overeating, I continually bought so many soaps that I didn’t know what to do with them.  After about a year of “over-buying,” I slowed down, but the soaps remained, as it can take between 2-6 weeks to use up just one bar.  In the meantime, I found that my taste in soap and recognition of quality and naturalness were changing faster than I could use up the soaps I already had.

I began using less-desirable bars in my laundry and dishwasher soap recipes, but that didn’t take care of the huge stash.  Since we’re moving, I decided to sift through all of my bars (and many samples, too, I should add), and take out the ones I’d use for myself or give as gifts.  I threw the rest away.  It took me a while to convince myself to do it, but the condensation of moisture in the basement affected some of the bars to the pount that they are unusable, and it was time to let go of some things that I really couldn’t use anymore.

It feels liberating to get rid of something that held me back for so long, so to speak.  Before this, I even thought that I had so many bars to use up, and that it may take me years to do so.  Now I realize that I have a very reasonable amount of soap that is usable, and I actually never had a huge stash of usable soaps (fresh, all-natural) after all.  This is especially true since I really slowed down my soap purchases over the last 16 months or so.

This leads me to ask, what things are holding you back in your life?  It could be something tangible and maybe relatively trivial, such as poor-quality soap in my case, or a huge emotional or spiritual burden that you keep allowing to get you down and hold you back.  It’s time for spring cleaning, time to get rid of those things that seem to keep you in the same place that you were a year ago, a month ago, or even yesterday.  It takes courage, more courage than it does to get rid of a box of old soaps of course, but you can do it, because the entire universe is on your side.  Make room for the beauty that is awaiting you.

P.S.  In case you are looking for some good quality soap, these are my favorite soap makers:

Alchemic Muse

Chagrin Valley

Eleneetha

Garden of Holly

Green Springs Organics

Rose of Sharon Acres

Skin. Bath and Body

Urban Eden

