Wow, summer is almost over!  Only one more day till August is over and we’re in to Sept.  The weather is already taking on a fall note as it’s cooler, a few leaves are starting to fall, and the sun is not as intense and bright.  Fall, right after Summer, is my favorite part of the year.  I love summer for the freedom associated with it: vacations, outdoors activities where I can reconnect with nature.  I love Fall because it’s cooler and it brings the kind of weather perfect for sipping chai tea, hot chocolate, and hot thai teas (my favorites.)

The advent of fall also brings a desire for warmer, deeper scents with spice notes, base accords and gourmand aromas.  As we transition into the fall, I made a most exquisite body oil with tuberose, monoi de tahiti, extra virgin coconut oil, rose, vanilla, neroli, rosewood, and other notes, and added jojoba and tamanu oils.  it’s treating my skin quite lovely and it’s a wonderful scent to transition into fall with.   I’ve also purchased fall inspired products that I hope to review soon, and as of today, I’m going to break out my hot teas and sip them in cozy, reflective silence.

What are your plans for fall?  Do you have any fall-inspired rituals?  What are your favorite fall things to do?

On another note, it’s been busy over here.  For the last several weeks I was writing a book chapter (draft now complete!), studying perfumery and working on new perfumes, and getting ready to begin a semester full of teaching and research.  I’ll be teaching graduate students for the first time, which makes me excited.  My own doctoral experience is very fresh, so I think (and hope) that I’ll be a good resource to my students.

I’m wishing you all a happy Fall, wherever you may be. 🙂

P.S. My posting on my trip to Asheville, NC is still to come.

Photos courtesy of http://www.danheller.com, http://www.jambahawaiiblog.com, and http://www.green-tea-health-news.com.

