Yes, it’s that time of the year — when the air gets colder, drier and windier.  Here are my top three tips for caring for your facial skin in the fall and winter.

1) Do not use soap on your face. I know, I was a skeptic too.  How will it get clean?  Will I start breaking out?  Every  morning, I use a nonsoap, powdered cleanser with ingredients like coconut milk, oatmeal, green tea powder, clays, honey, and other goodies.  After wetting my face in the shower, I pour a bit in my hand and add a few drops of water.  Then I apply it, leave it on like a masque while I shower, and the rinse to reveal clean and moisturized skin.

Then, I follow with a toner, and then a facial oil or serum, and cream as needed.  Once a week or so, I will use the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM), which is simply applying a few drops of oil to your face, covering it with a very warm, damp washcloth for about 30 seconds, and then wiping your face with the cloth before rinsing off.  Works great!

At night, I cleanse simply with a cotton ball and a cleansing toner only, followed by a rich oil blend or serum.  Lovely results.

2) Do a facial scrub once or twice a week. Sometimes I use sugar scrubs, but my favorite facial exfoliant is baking soda.  I add about a teaspoon to a bit of gentle liquid soap (castile preferred, my only no-soap exception).  Then, after I mix them together, I apply this all over my wet face in circular motions, making sure to cover every area except the eye area.  I’ve never had a microdermabrasion treatment before, but I’ve been told that this is similar.  It does wonders at gently and finely exfoliating.  It gets rid of dead skin cells and helps purify the skin.

3) Treat yourself to a moisturizing facial masque and steam once a week. Since I do not use harsh products that dry out the skin, I find that I don’t usually need to do a moisturizing facial masque once a week.  But when I did, I used homemade concoctions like rhassoul clay, cucumber hydrosol, and honey; pumpkin puree with brown sugar, honey, spices and yogurt; dry, prepared masques like the one I use as a cleanser; or others by Aubrey Organics.  Dead Sea Mud is also a fantastic facial care product, wonderful if used as a masque or cleanser.   But since I have sensitive skin, I use this only once in every good while.

A facial steam can be made my simmering 2 – 3 teaspoons of an organic herb blend of your choice (lavender, chamomile, calendula, comfrey, rose, and peppermint are some good choices) and then using a bath towel to surround yourself as you hover over the steam released for 30-second intervals.  I haven’t done this since the summer, but it really helps detox your skin and provides toning and nourishing results.

Now’s the time to experiment and find out what ingredients and regimen work best for your skin.  I keep it very simple with my facial care, and I think that it shows in almost zero breakouts, radiant skin (so I’ve been told), and moisture that lasts throughout the day.

What do you do to keep your face fabulous in colder months?

