General Life Updates

How’s your summer going?  Since my last post on July 7th (Has it really been that long?), I’ve:

  • been interviewed on TV and radio;
  • finished co-chairing a national conference on wellness;
  • celebrated my 5th wedding anniversary at the lovely Callaway Gardens Resort;
  • started some consulting that I love (with travel to places like the Virgin Islands);
  • sniffed and tested a baker’s dozen perfumes made up of 25% patchouli (more on that below);
  • finished book manuscript edits with my co-editor;
  • went rollerskating with teens and kids from my neighborhood (I feel like I’m getting old!);
  • and so much more — but that’s the coolest stuff. : )

I took a picture just like this one at Callaway Gardens, except this one was taken in the fall.

Beauty Blast from the Past

I’ve been researching natural and organic beauty rituals, key ingredients, and products from Egypt, the Victorian era, and West Africa.  I’m learning so much and there are so many thoughts percolating in my head.   From harmful beauty products to beauty rituals that we still indulge in today, I am learning so much.  I can’t wait to read more every night and during daily breaks when I can.  Are there any books on this topic that you’d suggest I check out?  I think I’ve just about scoured the internet for all it’s worth on this topic. ; )

Courtesy of Perfume Pharmer

Summer of Patchouli Love

Also, as you know, I was a Patch Bunny, or perfume tester for the amazing Summer of Patchouli Love perfumes with Monica Miller at the mast of this amazing project.  My top perfumes were all over the map, but they clearly reflected my eclectic taste for soft, bright, dark, sensual and everything in between. My top 3 are nos. 2, 4, and 14.

#2:River Walk by Liz Zorn

#4 Haight and Ashbury by Jane Cate

#14 Royal Water by Rodney Hughes

It did not surprise me that I chose a Jane Cate perfume because I love Wing and a Prayer perfumes so much.  In the case of all three perfumes, patchouli came alive in them.  In some of the perfumes, however, patchouli was too strong and overpowering (it is difficult to balance 25% patchouli with other notes), and in others it smelled like old bread or some other off-putting note.  For these three perfumes, though, I felt they mastered unruly patchouli in creating a balanced scent with distinct nuances that brought out different shades of patchouli.  Whether it was aged, dark, light, Indonesian, or Indian patchouli, these three perfumers in particular created well-balanced, wearable, and memorable scents that I would love to own myself!  Visit Perfume Pharmer for more input on the winning perfumes and reviews by other bloggers!

Up Next

Stay tuned for upcoming reviews and reflections on:

  • Artisan Hydrosols
  • Body Oils
  • Organic Spas
  • and more.
