Happy New Year!  I hope that 2012 is a off to a tremendous start for you.  I got swept away from blogging for a few weeks, and in that time I’ve worked on a consulting project, taught an intensive graduate course, celebrated my birthday, and visited family on the West Coast.   I also had this amazing burst of creative energy and made about 6 new products (beauty, bath, hair care, and home care) on New Year’s Eve.

So now I’m getting back into the swing of things, though I am a bit overwhelmed by my mile-long to-do list (only a slight hyperbole there).  There is nothing like crafting beauty products (and cooking!) to help you relax and keep things in perspective.

Lately I’ve been using an infused witch hazel I made as a skin toner.  Here is the recipe:

8 oz. witch hazel (I use one with 86% witch hazel, 14% alcohol)

1 heaping tbl. each: organic calendula, lavender, chamomile, and roses.

The alcohol content of the witch hazel helps preserve this blend quite well, and the cold infusion (without heat) occurs relatively quickly.  Simply place the herbs in a glass jar, pour the witch hazel over the herbs, shake, and in a few days it’s ready to use.

I still have mine infusing (going on 3 weeks now) and use a little from the jar on a cotton pad as toner.  I’ve recently strained out a bit from the jar and transferred it to a bottle mister, which I used while traveling.

I’ve noticed that this can be a bit drying (especially in the winter) so I’ve switched to using this only a few times a week rather than everyday as before.  The next time I will try mixing it with helichrysum, jasmine, and other herbs.  It’s really quite a refresher!  I love the scent and the feel.

What’s your favorite way to infuse herbs?  Do share!

P.S. Stay tuned for parts 3 & 4 of A Spa-tastic Holiday.

Photo Credit
