This afternoon I returned from a wonderful getaway.  My husband is always so sweet, but this time he absolutely swept me away.  I thought we were going to be staying in a regular hotel, about 1.5 hours from the city, but he surprised me with booking a cottage in the woods.  I was surprised and overjoyed once we inserted the key and opened the door…

It was an absolute dream.  Similar to the one above, our cottage was complete with a lovely, screened patio with patio furniture, a grill, nice front porch, and a fireplace with a bundle of wood nearby.  The kitchen was cute and stocked with dishes, pots, silverware, and basic spices.  If I had known, I would’ve brought food to cook.

In this small town of 1100 people, we found a grocery store near downtown where we could pick up a few things.  I browsed jewelry at a vintage shop, bought a few amazing books, and walked around the lovely gardens and beautiful natural surroundings.  But we also spent a lot of time indoors, enjoying the lovely cottage.

The decor was beautiful and modest, and the rooms were cozy.  I was glad that it rained Friday night and the temperature dropped considerably so we could put the fireplace to use.  Without going into too much detail, we really enjoyed each other.

While there, I bought a book on simple living.  As I read, I began to think: why not explore some ways that we can create a cottage experience in our own homes?  So this March, the Cottage Experience Series will explore just that: creating a fulfilling, beautiful, inviting, and comforting living experience everyday — naturally and organically.

Have you ever had a memorable getaway?  What topics would you like to see us explore in this series?

Photo credit

