I’m writing this post sitting in my new home office.  I have my delicious, homemade honey masque/cleanser sitting on my face.  I’m still in my pajamas.  I’m surrounded by green as I look outside my window.  Life is wonderful.

Due to the move, which happened May 1st, April was so very busy, and May is shaping up to be so as well.  Still, I have goals.  Yes.  Blogging goals.  I still would like to add to my Cottage Experience Series (I apologize for the delay on that).  And I will be featuring spring/summer skin care recipes that you can make at home.  First up: Organic Coconut Body Smoothie, a scrub that you will love, I hope.  It’s at the end of this post.

coconut love

Every time I contemplate going to a spa (even with a Groupon deal) I rethink that in terms of how I can create a similar experience for myself at home with less than 10% of that amount of moolah.  This used to be primarily out of financial necessity, but now it comes more from a challenge to create my own experiences, and to manifest exactly what I want, with some endearing surprises!

Until my next post, I leave you with a Coconut Body Scrub Recipe that I hope you will love.  I created this recipe and product yesterday, the first beauty product I made in my new home.  I am a coconut fanatic, so this is right up my alley.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

1/2 cup organic coconut cream

1/2 cup organic virgin coconut oil

1/4 cup coconut milk powder

2-3 tablespoons organic shredded coconut

3 tablespoons kosher vegetable glycerin

2 tablespoons organic castor oil

1 – 1 2/3 cup of organic, unrefined sugars (I used 3 parts organic evaporated cane juice to one part date sugar.  Vary amount of sugar according to how much extra oil you like in your scrub.)

Directions

Using a double broiler, combine coconut cream and coconut oil.  Once mostly melted (with just a few solid chunks left), remove from heat, and stir in coconut milk powder until mostly smooth.

Then stir in shredded coconut, glycerin, and castor oil.  Next stir in your sugar(s).  Finish by using a hand mixer to blend (for 2-3 minutes) until smooth (This is why it is a body smoothie.).

Optional: Adding 1 tsp. of natural coconut extract to augment the scent even more.

Required: Luxuriating in the tub or shower with your scrumptious creation.

