My husband and I will celebrate our 6th anniversary next weekend in one of our most favorite places in the world.   When my husband asked me what I wanted as a gift, I gave it some thought and realized that more than anything, I would enjoy some raw ingredients to make my own products.

As you’ve seen recently, I’ve been in a crafting frenzy, making products each week.  Last week, I made a sugar scrub and facial serum featuring some new oils that I’ve purchased recently, namely Buriti oil and Red Palm oil.  And the week before that I made four different products.  So imagine my excitement when I received my gift early.  Yes, I opened it today since we will be traveling part of next week and I will not be able to enjoy them.  That’s my excuse. 😉

So, what did I get?

Carrier Oils

My husband gave me so many things, but let’s start with the carrier oils.  I received organic/wildcrafted oils, including macadamia nut, wheat germ, argan, and baobab.  I’ve never made anything with any of these oils except for argan, so I’m very excited.  The macadamia nut smells divine, so creamy and nutty that I want to use it plain.

Essential Oils

Despite my craftiness, I never have purchased rose or sandalwood essential oil, mostly because of the initial (and lingering) shock of the cost.  But now I have both, and a generous amount of each!  I’m in heaven.

Organic Fruit Powders

Organic, raw camu camu powder, acai powder, and pomegranate powder are some additional treats I received.  I’m beginning to concoct recipes for all of these decadent freeze-dried fruit powders, including edible ones like smoothies — yum!

Perfumes

I’ve come across Oshadhi essential oils in health food stores before, but never knew the company made perfumes until recently.  My husband gifted me with two Oshadhi perfumes, Roots and Santalia, and both smell absolutely divine.  Though these are not raw ingredients, these were definitely icing on the cake.

Beauty

I also received an ayurvedic face masque that smells so good, as well as a few cobalt blue glass bottles with droppers for blending essential oils and other ingredients.

My Real Love

Let us always meet each other with a smile, for the smile is the beginning of love.
Mother Teresa

Needless to say, I love my gifts and can’t wait to continue creating again this week.  Even though I get excited about ingredients and creating products, that level of excitement and joy pales in comparison to the LOVE that I have for my husband.  I love him for being an amazing partner and lover.  I love him because we share so many things together, including our organic, earth-loving, vegetarian lifestyle; our consulting firm (which is 3 years old now); and our Toyota Prius, which has never let us down on the many road trips we’ve taken, hehe.  He cooks some amazing dishes, does so many little things to keep our lives going, and is also extremely supportive.  Throughout my struggles (and we all have them) he’s always been right there.

My husband is absolutely brilliant (he has earned a Ph.D. like me, but that is a sore measure of his true, unschooled brilliance).  He is a kind, extremely thoughtful, strikingly handsome, and creative man with so, so much to give.  He’s in the process of making a video game from scratch, including all of the art (and he’s not a graphic artist by training!) on top of all of the amazing things that he does.

Excuse me, but I had to gush about my man for a second.  He is truly my best friend.  I love him with all of my heart, and then some.

So, back to ingredients. 🙂  What have you been making lately?  Excited about any new ingredients that you’d like to try?

Or, if you want to talk about love: what or who do you love?

