One thing I enjoy about cooler weather in the fall and winter is that I get a chance to take more baths.  Baths are rejuvenating for the body, mind, and soul: they give you time to relax, breathe deeply, and take in the benefits of aromatherapy.

Today I made a floral bath soak with flowers, salts, oatmeal, and essential oils, pictured above. (Note: I think this is the first time I took a picture of one of my creations and put it on the blog — more to come!)

Here is the recipe.

Floral Bath Soak

3 cups salts (I used epsom, but you can use sea salts, himalayan salts, etc.)

3/4 cup ground oatmeal

1/4 cup each dried lavender, chamomile, rose, yarrow, honeysuckle, jasmine, chrysanthemum, calendula (or just 1 1/2 cups of 1-2 flowers)

1 tbs. each of saffron threads and hibiscus flowers (optional)

1-2 tbs. jojoba oil (or almond, olive…any oil of your choice)

60-80 drops of essential oils (I used rose geranium, lavender, tagetes, blue chamomile, helichrysum, sweet orange, cedarwood, and ylang ylang)

Mix all dry ingredients together.  Add in oil and essential oils.  Blend well for at least one minute.  Transfer into clear glass jars.

I use disposable tea bags to enjoy my soak; this eliminates the need for cleanup.  For pedicures, I use 2-3 tablespoons of this blend; for baths, 5-6 tablespoons.

How often do you enjoy baths?  What ingredients do you use in your bath?

