I know that winter is weeks away, but my skin doesn’t know it.  Lately, it’s been much drier than usual.  I’ve officially switched from body oils to body butters, and I’m using more moisturizing handmade soaps with ingredients like goat milk, shea and cocoa butters, and honey.

When it comes to my face, my old standbys such as my ultimate ubtan weren’t doing the job either.  So I made another ultimate ubtan – the winter edition – which is basically facial cleansing grains with nourishing oils – both carrier and essential oils.

Along with more than 30 botanicals – oats, kaolin clay, moringa, irish moss, rose, lavender, kelp and others – I added argan, jojoba, sunflower and pumpkin seed oils, as well as essential oils like lavender, jasmine, geranium, frankincense, myrrh, and carrot seed.

I’ve used it once so far, and my skin looooves it.  It provides the perfect amount of moisture – the dry skin remedy that I was looking for.  Then, I spritz with a homemade blend of rosewater, aloe vera juice, lavender, rose geranium, and sandalwood oils.  I finish by moisturizing (usually with a combination of two serums) and then I’m ready to face the day.

Tips for Winter Skin Care:

  • Add a few drops of light oil to your cleanser to boost moisture at that important stage.  Argan, grapeseed, jojoba, safflower, and sunflower are good choices.
  • Consider cleansing the skin in the mornings with a super mild product.  For instance, I use rose water on a cotton pad to cleanse my skin in the a.m. since there isn’t much to clean from the night before.
  • Use slightly heavier moisturizers and use toners with gently nourishing ingredients like aloe vera, rose water, chamomile, and other soothing, mild ingredients.
  • Eat water-rich foods like salads, melons, and raw veggies.  Supplement with rich, nutritious oils like coconut, flax seed and olive.
  • Drink more water!  In the fall and winter seasons we have a tendency to drink more hot drinks such as teas and coffee, but don’t replace your important water intake with these drinks.

How have you (or will you) change up your skin care routine with drier, colder weather?

