Hello Folks! It’s August and summer is not quite over, but I’ve had a blast.  I spent 1 month in Brazil and I recently came back from a cruise to the Bahamas (two islands) with my husband.  It’s been almost two full months since I blogged and I wanted to stop in and say hello.  I hope that you are having a fantastic summer!

Here’s a recipe for a yummy skin and hair treat fitting for the season (and year-round, really):

Floral Infused Coconut Oil

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup organic, unrefined virgin coconut oil
  • 1 level tablespoon each: organic dried rose, chamomile, lavender, and jasmine
  • 1 organic vanilla bean

Directions:

Grind herbs with a mortar and pestle or coffee grinder. Split open vanilla bean and scrape out contents (paste) in small bowl.  Then cut up the bean itself in 1/2″ pieces.  In a double broiler, melt down coconut oil on low heat and then add in herbs and vanilla bean and paste.  Continue heating on low for approximately 30 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes and making sure that the mix never comes to a simmer.

Cool for 30 mins. and transfer to sterilized and dry glass jar with lid.  Store on stove top for gentle intermittent heating for further infusion, or place outside or in a sunny window for sun infusion.  Whatever method you use, shake daily.  It will be ready for use in 2-5 weeks, depending on your preference.  Enjoy as a body oil, after-sun treatment, hair oil, delicious ice cream drizzle, and more!

I made a batch a few months ago with several different herbs, flowers and vanilla.  It smells divine and I use it as often as I can for so many things.

What’s your favorite DIY or purchased product/ingredient this summer?

 

